Articles of Association

The Continental Association, otherwise known simply as “Association”, was a system created by the First Continental Congress in 1774 for implementing a trade boycott with England. Congress hoped that by imposing financial sanctions, they would pressure England into revisiting the issues of the colonies. The Continental Association seeked to to change English policies towards the colonies.

The boycott became effective on December 1, 1774. The boycott implemented by the Continental Association was successful for the short duration. The outbreak of the American Revolutionary War superseded the attempt to boycott English goods.

President of the Continental Congress
Peyton Randolph

New Hampshire
Nathaniel Folsom
John Sullivan

Massachusetts Bay
Thomas Cushing
Samuel Adams
John Adams
Robert Treat Paine

Rhode Island & Providence Plantation
Stephen Hopkins
Samuel Ward

Eliphalet Dyer
Roger Sherman
Silas Deane

New York
Isaac Low
John Alsop
John Jay
James Duane
Philip Livingston
William Floyd
Henry Wisner
Simon Boerum

New Jersey
James Kinsey
William Livingston
Stephen Crane
Richard Smith
• John De Hart

Joseph Galloway
John Dickinson
Charles Humphreys
Thomas Mifflin
Edward Biddle
• John Morton
George Ross

The Lower Counties
Caesar Rodney
Thomas McKean
George Read

• Matthew Tilghman
• Thomas Johnson, Jr.
• William Paca
• Samuel Chase

• Richard Henry Lee
George Washington
• Patrick Henry, Jr.
• Richard Bland
• Benjamin Harrison
• Edmund Pendleton

North Carolina
• William Hooper
• Joseph Hewes
• Richard Caswell

South Carolina
• Henry Middleton
• Thomas Lynch
• Christopher Gadsden
• John Rutledge
• Edward Rutledge